Cairo Egypt Reviews - Restaurants | Dining | Nightlife | Shops

Cairo Reviews

Latest Review

The Trust: Nic Cage Stars in a Film That’s Not Totally Terrible
Published On: 25/08/2016

For a Nicolas Cage movie, The Trust not as bad as one might expect, considering the actor's string of duds in recent years. Playing out like a low-budgeted version of Ocean's Eleven - except this time it's the cops who are doing the crime - The Trust has initial promise, but as the minutes begin to unfold, boredom begins to kick in as becomes obvious that the story isn't really going anywhere. The film begins by introducing us to two cops, Stone (Cage) and Waters (Woods), who work in the evidence room at the Las Vegas Police Department. Both seemingly tired of their jobs, Stone is hoping that a promotion from his boss will soon come knocking while the prostitute and pot-loving Waters is painfully indifferent about the entire affair. Their lives, however, soon change when Stone accidently discovers large amounts of unexplained cash on bail release paperwork, triggering him to chase a money trail. Bringing Waters into the picture, their investigation soon leads them to an empty building that was recently fitted with a super-secured - and super-suspicious - meat locker, which they believe is a safe filled with cash. Unfortunately, their plan of penetrating the vault doesn't go as planned, leading the two to places they never thought they'd have to go to. Blending flashes eccentricity with deadpan comedy, Nicolas Cage is surprisingly effective and relatively pleasing as the self-loathing cop who stumbles upon a discovery that, although illegal, holds the possibility of a new and a more exciting life. As his partner-in-crime, Woods is equally effective and the two actors play off each other extremely well, sharing a decent amount of onscreen chemistry. However, their potential - along with the movie's initial promise of delivering a dark and a relatively humorous caper - is lost with the script's lack of risks. Co-directed by brothers and first-time filmmakers, Alex and Benjamin Brewer, the film is shot with a surprising amount of grit and visual flair. Though the siblings manage to build a solid amount of tension, there's an imbalance to the whole film, in terms of tone, especially in the last act. Still, even with all its flaws - the music could have been a bit more involving throughout for example - The Trust is still a far superior Nicolas Cage film than anything we've seen in recent times. 

...

Mori Sushi & Grill: New Menu, New Flavours, Same Top Quality
Published On: 24/08/2016

When we heard about Mori Sushi's new menu, we expected maybe five or six new rolls and maybe an extra appetiser and a dessert – but boy, we were wrong. The new menu had more than 20 items, ranging from an exquisite selection of Mojitos and delicious appetisers like baby shrimp Bonbons and Tako Salad, to delicious rolls with Hawaiian, Indian and Italian flavours. While taking our time to check out the menu at the Mohandiseen branch, we ordered a Mojito Passion (30LE); a mixture of pineapple, passion fruit syrup, sprite, mojito syrup, lemon slices and fresh mint, the super refreshing drink passion had exotic flavours that sent us straight to a tropical island and is big enough for two to share. There were several new interesting appetisers, but Mori's Tacos (59LE) was something we couldn't miss. Four mini tortilla bread tacos filled with a sashimi salad made of mini cubes of fresh white fish, salmon, and tuna, the Tacos were bursting with a ginger flavour that complimented the sweetness of the fish and the taco shells added a contrasting crunchy texture to the meaty and lean salad. Of the new rolls, we started with the Biso Roll (59LE half portion). Drizzled with a little teriyaki, this special Ura Maki roll was filled with soft wiggly-textured scallop, avocado and cream cheese – everything quite normal sushi ingredients. The extra touch, though, is that they are coated in corn flakes crumbs, which is commonly used in their new items. The roll was perfectly executed, but the aroma of the corn flakes with the sweet teriyaki in particular deserves a standing ovation. Moving to some of the fried sushi, we tried the Hot Panko Roll (87LE), with came as eight pieces of Ura maki roll filled with shrimp tempura, cream cheese and asparagus, coated with a Panko crust, topped with caviar and drizzled with their mouth-watering signature spicy lemon mayonnaise sauce. Asparagus is another ingredient that you'll find in the new items, and in this roll it lightened things up, while the Panko crust added a scrumptious crunch. The Spicy Lemon Roll's position as everyone's favourite Mori roll is could well be in danger. Taking a break between rolls, we also tried the Jalapeno Sake Platter (69LE); thin slices of salmon topped with green and red chilli pepper, chives and smothered in ponzu– a citrusy and tangy soy sauce- and jalapeno sauces. The balance in flavours was super impressive, starting from the bold chive flavour, to the mild heat from the chilli, and the citrusy ponzu sauce worked really well with the salmon. Another thing that surprised us was the Hot Indian Roll (77LE). Served with sweet chilli sauce, the six rolls, which were wrapped in spring roll sheets, were filled with salmon and shrimp bursting with curry flavour. The salmon and shrimp were a bit crumbly, but the flavours were on point. The real question here, is this should be considered a sushi roll or an appetiser Now let's talk about the Lasagna Roll (54LE half portion) – yes you read that right, LASAGNA ROLL. This Ura Maki roll filled with mozzarella cheese, asparagus, and shrimp had light and fresh flavours, while the sweet heat from the Sriracha and the richness of Mori's sesame sauce complimented the delicate fillings without overpowering it. Sorry if you were expecting minced beef, lasagna sheets, and melted mozzarella cheese. We also tried the Gunkan Crispy Sake (23LE per piece). Made up of sushi rice surrounded with avocado, topped with diced salmon mixed with spicy mayo and Panko crumbs for some crunch, what makes the Gunkan special is Mori's new-style rice, which is infused with dill, coriander, spring onion and pine nuts. The only thing that tainted it a little is that it was rather big and difficult to handle. Overall, though, we would love to have Mori's new style rice as an option in some of the classic rolls because it was that good. Rounding off our feast, we saved the Toyo Roll (28LE per piece) for last. Made up of sushi rice and salmon topped with cream cheese, the highlight here is the additional raspberry and blueberry bits that added sweet, sour and tart flavours. It's one of the more unique of the new items, though it was also meant to have a slice of kiwi on it, which seems to have got lost on its way from the kitchen. Few people could have expected so many new items, but, at the time of our visit, the more impressive thing was that they were all executed well and even with the stranger rolls, it all worked. Mori has raised the bar, offering seemingly endless variety and impressive flavour combinations. 

...

El Chico: Tex-Mex Franchise Returns to Cairo And We're Glad it Has
Published On: 23/08/2016

It wasn't that long ago that Cairo's dining scene wasn't very welcoming to the more adventurous side of food, which led to many very quick closures of restaurants that would otherwise have been successful in the last couple of years. One of these restaurants is Tex-Mex specialist, El Chico, which, after opening and closing some time back, has returned. Located inside Cairo Festival City, El Chico has a very colourful interior with an element of randomness to it. The coloured ceiling lamps, wall-hung Mexican plates and Aztec-patterned couches against different coloured walls all made for a vibrant appearance. Overall the ambiance might be a bit cliché, but it's cheerful all the same, though Justin Bieber and Rihanna being played was a turn off and didn't match the theme. The variety on the menu is H-U-G-E, so we ordered Taco Fries (65LE) while taking our time to check the menu. The super crispy fries were topped with gooey melted mixed-cheese sauce, chilli con carne and a dollop of sour cream, sprinkled Pico de gallo and jalapeno pepper slices, with a small cup of ranch sauce to be drizzled on top. It was a flawless starter; the fries were perfectly cooked, the consistency of the cheese sauce was spot on and the chilli was seasoned well, while the rest of the toppings worked perfectly together. Then it was time to get down to business and move to our first main, the Grande Brisket Burrito (80LE). Served with well-cooked mexican rice and mashed potato, which had a chunky consistency and lacked flavour, this soft tortilla bread was filled with rice, cheese, frijoles rancheros – is a thick tomato-based bean soup – and a generous amount of slowly roasted beef brisket. This was all topped with a drizzle of sour cream and your choice of chipotle sauce or, our choice, the tomato-based ranchera. The portion was enormous and the overall taste was super impressive and well-balanced; the tender pulled brisket absorbed the flavours of the frijoles rancheros, while the ranchera sauce on top boosted the dish with its sharp tomato flavour. We also tried the Chicken Fajita Chimichanga (55LE) and we can easily say it was the highlight of the meal. Served with mouth-watering sweet corn and a bowl of cheese for dipping (which we mostly used to add flavour to the bland mashed potato) the deep fried burrito was filled with a mixture of Jack and cheddar cheese, pico de gallo, sour cream sauce and tender chicken fajita. The Chimichanga was super crispy and far from oily, and the chipotle dressing on top added a fantastic smoky flavour – overall, another dish with an impressive balance in flavours. No visit to a Tex-Mex restaurant would be complete without tacos, so we went with the Chicken Cascabel Taco (65LE). Served with your choice of two sides, each taco was literally filled with five cubes of chicken (see photo below) coated with Cascabel sauce – a sauce made of spicy Cascabel pepper – and little-to-no cotija cheese and marinated onions as promised. We expected colourful tacos bursting with flavours like the other dishes, but it was very dry and tasteless. We finished our meal with a Brownie Skillet Sundae (45LE); a concoction made up of a super chocolaty and fudgy pecan brownie, topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and surrounded by a sizzling Mexican butter sauce that is poured into the hot skillet in front of you. The brownie itself was flawless, but the ice cream, on the other hand, was very disappointing due to its horribly chunky texture. The Mexican butter sauce, meanwhile, didn't caramelise enough, because the skillet wasn't hot enough. All in all, we're glad to have El Chico back in town and our visit was a largely enjoyable one. The food might've had some hit and miss, but the dishes that did succeed are definitely worth a second visit.

...

Arigato: Simonds Bakery Expands into Sushi at Sheikh Zayed Branch
Published On: 22/08/2016

Most of Cairo's bakeries nowadays are doing their best to keep up with trends, from Nutella-smothered desserts and Biscoff spreads, to the endless stream of red-velvet-everything. The endurng Simonds, however, have decided to go to another direction completely and open a sushi and grill restaurant at their Sheikh Zayed branch, which was recently rebranded as Arigato. Located at Lagenda Mall, Arigato's interior design is on the random classical side, with its choice of buttoned leather chairs, living room-style chandeliers and the Japanese drawings on the wall. The ambiance was very gloomy at night due to the very dark lighting – so dark, in fact, that it was difficult to tell the difference between the sushi rolls without using the light of our phones. Arigato offers a great all-you-can-eat deal at 175LE per person, with your choice of soup, salad or appetiser, and a scoop of ice cream for dessert, too. Starting with the appetiser, we went with Shrimp Kunafa and Spring rolls. The shrimp kunafa had a scrumptious crust and it was perfectly cooked, and the same goes for the vegetables spring rolls. But overall, there was a lack of seasoning and the flavours were on the bland side, while the sweet chilli sauce dip didn't really compliment the flavours – because there were no flavours. Moving to the sushi, Sashimi is excluded from the all-you-can-eat offer, leaving the variety of sushi limited, but crowd-pleasing nonetheless, whether you're into special hot rolls, Nigiri, or Ura Maki. After checking the menu, we opted for Sake Nigiri, Philadelphia Roll, Boston Roll, Spider Roll and Dynamite Roll. Before we talk about the sushi, we have to start by telling you about how it was served. Coming to our table in a Japanese style wooden bridge-like plate, it added a fun touch to the whole experience. Starting with the sake nigiri, the rice was seasoned well but sadly it didn't hold together, while the salmon was fresh was cut unevenly, with one as one end being too thick and the other too thin. As for the special Ura Maki Philadelphia roll, it was filled with Philadelphia cheese, cucumber, avocado, and topped with smoked salmon and sesame seeds. The salmon was very thin, and the amount of cream cheese was just overpowering. The rice in the rolls was much, much better, though. Possibly the best roll of the day, the Boston roll consists of a salmon and shrimp roll coated with tempura crust and drizzled with some sweet chilli sauce. The roll was, overall, well-executed but it didn't have anything special to it. The same goes for the spider roll which was filled with crabsticks, salmon, and cream cheese to be deep fried. The whole experience was pretty average, until we tried the Dynamite roll – and it got worse. Bringing together jalapeno pepper, spring onion, spicy mayo, and seared scallop, we were super excited, but, unforgivably, the scallop was burnt and had a bitter taste. After the sushi, we received a scoop of Simonds' yogurt and blueberry ice cream as a dessert. The texture of the ice cream wasn't the best, but it had the sour flavour of the yogurt and the fruity sweetness of the blueberry we looked for. All in all, our experience at Arigato was very disappointing. Why a bakery like Simonds would go into sushi is a bit of a mystery. The 175LE we paid would've easily satisfied our sushi cravings at Mori Sushi or we could have just add few 

...

Skiptrace: Chan & Knoxville Star in Dull Buddy-Cop Flick
Published On: 22/08/2016

Those expecting the same brand of humour and vigorous energy of the Jackie Chan-starring buddy-cop series, Rush Hour, will probably not be too taken with the latest offering from the creator of Die Hard 2 and five-time Golden Raspberry nominee for Worst Director, Renny Harlin. The idea of pairing likes Chan and Jackass luminary, Johnny Knoxville, might have looked good on paper, but in realitym their somewhat tepid onscreen chemistry faiils to bring Skiptrace's otherwise shambolic premise to life. The story is centred on no-nonsense Hong Kong cop Bennie Chan (Chan) who, after failing to save his partner Yung (Tsang) from the trap laid out by a mysterious crime kingpin, The Matador, nine years prior, has become obsessed with trying reveal the identity of the criminal and bring him to justice. His ten-year-long investigation soon leads him to believe that the man he wants is actually business tycoon Victor Wong (Chao), but the lack of evidence stops him from pursuing the matter further. Meanwhile in Macau, American con-man and gambler Connor Watts (Knoxville) is being chased - and eventually kidnapped - by Russian gangsters for impregnating their boss's daughter, but not before he bears witness to the murder of a woman by the very same Chinese mob Bennie wants a piece of. You follow? With Watts holding the key of putting Wong behind bars and with Bennie's ex-partner's daughter, Samantha (Bingbing), now in the hands of the baddies back home, Bennie must travel down to Russia and rescue the American and take him back to China before time runs out. Skiptrace spends most of its time on the road with the duo taking the more scenic route from to China - after their passports are conveniently burned - through eastern Russia and the sweeping Mongolian plains. Although Chan is beginning to show his age, the action, as per usual, is pretty infectious with the sixty-two year old offering more of the same acrobatic stunts and ass-chopping skills we've grown accustomed to. Unfortunately, though, the craziness and general liveliness of it all takes a drop and the film goes on to take itself a little too seriously – this doesn't feel like a Jackie Chan-produced actioner. The biggest flaw, however, comes with the casting of Knoxville. Unable to rise above the dreadful dialogue and silly one-liners, there's no edge or comedic bite to his performance leaving Chan to do all of the heavy lifting. Though beautifully shot, Skiptrace is about an hour too long and at times plays out as an over-reaching travelogue, lacking the humour, energy and focus needed to keep its characters interesting and story on track. And let's not even talk about Chan's rendition of Adele's Rolling in the Deep. 

...

Chicken Fil-A: Can Local Restaurant Compete with the Big Boys of Fast-Food?
Published On: 21/08/2016

Remember when we used to order pasta from Tomato Street and sandwiches from Wesaya? Yes, it's been a while since we've seen a new Egyptian fast food chain, which made the arrival of Chicken Fil-A all the more intriguing. There's not much to be said for a fast-food dine-in experience and, let's face it, fast food is all about delivery, so we ordered in. Chicken Fil-A's menu is all about fried chicken sandwiches, with the exception of a dish that brings together grilled chicken with their Flying Rice (15LE-30LE), and they also have a fair amount of sides and desserts. Sadly, however, Chicken Fil-A failed the delivery and customer service test; after receiving the order after an hour and a half, our complaints were met with sarcasm. It wasn't a great start, but we were hoping for better with the food. The sandwiches are largely very similar with just different toppings, so we decided to go classic with the Fil-A Deluxe (28LE) with a side of Hell Fries (19LE). The sandwich came as three pieces of fried chicken strips topped with 'French cheese' and lying over a bed of lettuce, tomato and the restaurant's special sauce, but what was far from what we saw on the menu. The chicken had a very soggy and slightly burnt crust and we couldn't tell what type of 'French' cheese was used, due to how little there was of it, but on the bright side, the chicken was very tender, the bread and the veggies were fresh, and the amount of 'special' sauce – which tasted suspiciously like mayonnaise - was spot on. Coated with Chicken Fil-A's special spices, the fries, meanwhile, were topped with cheddar cheese sauce, slices of jalapeno pepper and hell sauce. We really couldn't feel the presence of the spices due to the overpowering spiciness of the jalapeno and the 'hell sauce', which turned out to be sriracha sauce. As for the cheese sauce itself, it had a good consistency, but it was on the bland side in term of flavours. We also couldn't not go for one of 'Akbar Sandwiches Frakh Fe Mas' (the biggest chicken sandwiches in Egypt); between the The Godzilla (38LE) and The Fil (40LE), we went for the latter. After a rough start, The Fil saved the day. Two pieces of chicken fillet are stuffed with American cheese and served in a soft burger bun, alongside tomato, lettuce, and again their 'special sauce' aka mayo. The quality and the flavours of The Fil are very similar to Hardee's' Big Chicken Fillet, only it's much, much bigger and the layers in the Fil make for a pretty picture. We finished things off with Red Velvet Oreo (15LE) and Watermelon Fil-A Cooler (12LE). The dessert consists of five pieces of deep-fried, red velvet batter-coated Oreo pieces, sprinkled with sugar and served with cream cheese dip. Unfortunately the dough was very dense and chewy, and the cream cheese dip was too thick to be a dip. Somehow, though, the flavours were interesting enough and it just needed better execution. As for the Fil-A cooler, it was simply a can of 7up served with 2 tablespoons of watermelon syrup – the less said about that, the better. Overall, despite its crowd pleasing concept and the potential gap fin the market for local fast-food, it's Chicken Fil-A's poor execution that could see it go the way of Tomato Street and Wesaya.

...

The BFG: Spielberg Brings Roald Dahl Classic to Life
Published On: 21/08/2016

While it may not be one of his most moving as the book on which it's based, The BFG is a technically impressive adaptation of the popular Ronald Dahl 1982 children's book of the same name which, despties of its minor setbacks, still manages to embody enough heart and whimsy to bring the much-celebrated and beloved story through to the big screen. The story takes place in England in the 1980's and is centred on Sophie (Barnhill); a curious young orphan who, after encountering a giant (Rylance) late one night, is 'kidnapped' by the titan and is taken to the Giant Country so that she doesn't accidentally blab about his existence to the public. Luckily for her, the giant turns out to be a kind and gentle spirit who, unlike his fellow giants - who are much bigger in size and only eat children - eats vegetables and spends most of his nights capturing dreams and delivering them to those in need. Quickly befriending her new pal, Sophie - who is quick to name him The Big Friendly Giant - is soon introduced to a whole new world. However, her presence in the Giant Country soon attracts the unwanted attention from other giants, who are led by a bully named Fleshlumpeater (Clement), who enjoy invading the human world to snatch and eat its children. Coming up with a plan, Sophie hopes that, with a little bit of help from the BFG, she will be able to put a stop to their terror. Written by Melissa Mathison - the screenwriter of E.T who unfortunately passed away not long after The BFG finished filming - The BFG is a pleasing fantasy adventure which features an endearing story of an unexpected friendship between a human girl and a large foreign being from another world. Visually impressive and told through clever use of motion-capture technology, Spielberg spends quite a bit of time introducing us to the Giant Country, particularly the inside of The BFG's home, devoting plenty of attention to detail that helps you become fully immersed in world. On the down side, however, fart jokes are aplenty, for some reason - something perhaps a little out-of-character for the famed director - and the story takes a while before it's given a proper goal. Luckily, though, the performances are all solid with Barnhill - who takes on her very first acting gig with plenty of charm and wide-eyed innocence - coming out on top, whileRylance is pleasing as the dippy and mumbling giant. All in all, The BFG is a worthy and visually inspiring live-action adaptation of the celebrated novel which may not always stay on course - or breathe that Spielbergian magic we've all come to know - but it's still a relatively enjoyable fantasy adventure which both the young and old can enjoy.

...

Dixie Cream: Rich Selection, Poor Quality at CFC Branch of Donut Chain
Published On: 20/08/2016

Dessert-dedicated venues have been popping up across Cairo at a huge rate over the last few years; Not only are new venues opening, but existing ones are opening new branches at a rapid pace as they race to prove that they are at the top of the dessert game. Dixie Cream is one of the former, with a new branch opening inside Cairo Festival City at one of the entrances leading to the food court, giving it a unique location catching the attention of visitors going into or out of the area. With a small venue, it boasts a simple seating area best suited for short visits, with a wide variety of sugary options, ranging from their signature donuts, Italian styled gelato and frozen yogurt, to a mix of hot and cold drinks made in-house. After taking a seat at one of the available tables, we noticed that it wasn't clean and had traces of juice and sugar from previous guests and with the absence of tissues we couldn't do anything but wait, only for the waiter to arrive a few minutes later and wipe down the table after we told him about it. We opted for the house special Chocolate glazed donut (11LE), Red Velvet filled donut (16LE) and Mini Apple Fritter (14.70LE), while also ordering a latte (17LE) with hazelnut flavour (7 LE) and a Berry Smoothie (15LE). Unfortunately, the chocolate glazed donut wasn't fresh and had a stale aftertaste; on the other hand, the red velvet filled donut had a creamy white filling which was quite good overpowering the again stale dough. While it would have been better hot, the tender apple fritter was served at room temperature; having a cinnamon-tinted centre and a very subtle apple aftertaste which was almost undetectable, with an overpowering sugar glaze while. The Berry smoothie was refreshing, but very sugary, with an artificial aftertaste rather than a fruity one. As for the Latte, we were brought a double shot of Turkish coffee which was strange but with all the issues that we've had during our visit, we ended up not correcting the waiter and leaving shortly afterwards. Overall, there are a lot of issues that need to be addressed with competitors like Dunkin Donuts and other dessert specialist to contend with, particularly when considering the fact that there is a priority problem (at this branch at least). The staff were happy to talk up a lot of the items, but while neglecting the thing Dixie Cream is most know for – donuts.

...

The Neon Demon: Disturbing, Beautiful or a Little of Both?
Published On: 18/08/2016

Following up on the critically acclaimed Drive and the not-so-well-received Only God Forgives, controversial Danish director, Nicolas Winding Refn, returns to the big screen with another provocative and polarizing piece of work. Though its undertones may be lost on some, The Neon Demon is a beautifully envisioned thriller which uses the pretentiousness of the fashion industry as its backdrop. The film follows the story of Jesse (Fanning); a teenage girl who moves from Georgia out to Los Angeles in the pursuit of a modelling career. Blessed with a natural beauty that is hard to ignore, Jesse soon makes an impression on modelling agent rep Jan (Hendricks) who believes that Jesse will have no problem making it big in the business. Befriending makeup artist named Ruby (Malone) - who appears to be secretly attracted to the teenager - Jesse is soon introduced to two more experienced models, Sarah (Lee) and Gigi (Heathcote), to help her adjust to the life in the big city. It doesn't take long before famed photographers and fashion designers are all wanting to get a piece of Jesse, much to the obvious dislike of both Sarah and Gigi who begin to see the new girl as a threat. Trying her best to keep her head above water, Jesse slowly begins to adapt to her new life and as her stardom begins to rise, it becomes seemingly unclear whether this innocent-looking young girl from Georgia is as naïve as she looks. Immaculately constructed and polished, Refn is not afraid to let the scenes linger on for what sometimes feels like an eternity, allowing the audience to fully take in the emptiness and the kill-or-be-killed mindset of the industry. With the help of cinematographer Natasha Brier, Refn showers the picture with beautiful lighting and rich composition that result in one of his most visually stunning pictures to date, combining deliberately positioned angles that are both picturesque and uneasy. With every angle positioned to tell its own story, the performance from young Elle Fanning - who was only sixteen-years-old during filming - as well as Heathcote and Lee as her modelling peers, are affective, but it's Keanu Reeves - who plays the creepy motel manager where Jesse stays - who offers the most memorable performance. Enriched with a visual seductiveness and told through a string of deliberate symbolisms, The Neon Demon has some shocking scenes and is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. But while the film's aesthetic has its own shock value, it's what lies beneath that could be perceived as potentially disturbing and at times, seemingly empty of narrative and substance. Or was that the whole point? It's not always easy to tell.

...

Gelato Mio: Keeping Ice-Cream Simple, Gimmick-Less & Delicious
Published On: 17/08/2016

Remember when ice cream was served in a waffle cone, or as a sundae in cup with some chocolate sauce on top? Yes, it's sad how the classic form ice cream has been forgotten and been replaced with more elaborate forms – think liquid nitrogen ice cream and ice cream rolls. It's a trend that is taking over Cairo, but there are shops that still offer the classics and one of them is Gelato Mio. Having won a Cairo 360 Editors' Choice Award in the Ice-Cream & Dairy category, we paid a revisit to the unassuming little store on Brazil Street in Zamalek. For those that haven't visited Gelato Mio, it's a very small shop with simple white decoration, including white brick touches, which gives all the attention to the gelato display freezer. We opted for a Small Cone (13LE) with a scoop of Watermelon Gelato and another of Banana & Guava Gelato. We also ordered a Small Cup (13LE) a scoop of Caramel and a scoop of Lindt Chocolate. Sitting on a fresh and crispy waffle cone, the watermelon gelato was super light and refreshing, but we had hoped for a bolder watermelon flavour. As for the banana & guava, the exotic flavour of the guava with the creamy and sweet bananas –which basically could work as a gelato base on its own- created our favourite fruit couple. Sorry strawberry, the guava stole your banana. The Lindt chocolate gelato was just as good; the bitterness of the dark chocolate might not be the best choice for milk chocolate fans, but it worked really well with the caramel gelato, which tasted exactly like a crème caramel and added the sweetness you might be crave with the Lindt gelato. Overall, the gelatos that we tried had perfect, dense textures with intense flavours – as gelato should be – which sums up Gelato Mio's strengths: maintain quality. It's been almost three years since its opened and it continues to prove that its one of the best despite keeping things simple and sticking to the classics. 

...

View More
Feature

How to Become a Rock Star in Cairo Part Two: Learning & Mastering Your Instrument

In the first part of How to Become a Rock Star in Cairo, we talked about the different musical instruments available and where to get them. Now that you've picked one, we'll be getting into where you can get lessons and begin to master your instrument. Now before we go into the list, we need to keep